Green Innovation

Economic efficiency that benefits the environment

 

Economic efficiency that benefits the environment. For us, as for all plastics processing businesses, the recycling of residual plastics is something we take for granted. This means that all lead frames from thermoforming and all offcuts from foil production are ground up and returned directly to the production cycle for processing. We place special emphasis on compliance with quality guidelines.

The cooperative approach to optimization that we take with our customers has enabled us to reduce packaging weights and foil thicknesses in recent years, thus saving precious resources. In the future too we will continue to analyse more options together with our customers.

Reduction of the carbon footprint by almost 80%

 

A large proportion of Fernholz products are made from PET. The consistent use of recycled PET made it possible to reduce the carbon footprint in these products by almost 80%. For this purpose, Fernholz invested in a high-performance, state-of-the-art decontamination facility which elaborately cleans and prepares the recycled PET for use in production. After this process, the material exceeds all requirements for packaging with direct food contact – in fact it is even better than new material.
So this process not only helps significantly reduce CO2 emissions, it also saves resources and therefore reflects greater environmental awareness.

Recyceltes PET

 

450g CO2

 

Quelle: VISCO NEWS, Ausgabe 09, Oktober 2017.

PET Neuware

 

2150g CO2

 

NFM containers

 

Our NFM (natural filled material) containers consist of up to 50% talcum, a natural and versatile raw material that is economical and freely available locally. This enables us to reduce the proportion of fossil raw materials in a standard container by up to 50% and also means that we use less energy in production. The talcum is degraded in Northern Europe and added to polypropylene. This improves CO2 emissions compared to containers made solely from polypropylene.

Garden trays

 

We also recycle neutral and decorated scrap products. The material is dyed and then processed on our premises to produce non-food articles such as horticultural trays. The lead frames that result from the production of contained and trays are returned to the processing cycle. Scrap material, consisting of soiled or already decorated packaging, is processed to produce horticultural trays. A separate local production area is available for this purpose and plastic trays for horticultural use are produced there.

Green Innovation

Wirtschaftlich­keit im Sinne der Umwelt

 

Wirtschaftlichkeit im Sinne der Umwelt. Für uns ist, ebenso wie für alle Kunststoffverarbeiter, die Wiederverwertung von Restkunststoffen eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Dafür werden alle Stanzgitter aus der Thermoformung und Randbeschnitte aus der Folienherstellung gemahlen und dem Produktionskreislauf direkt wieder zugeführt und verarbeitet. Dabei legen wir besonderen Wert auf die Einhaltung der Qualitätsrichtlinien.

Durch die gemeinsame Optimierung mit unseren Kunden konnten Verpackungsgewichte und Folienstärken in den letzten Jahren reduziert und somit Ressourcen geschont werden. Auch zukünftig werden wir in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden weitere Möglichkeiten analysieren.

Reduzierung des Carbon Footprint um fast 80 %

 

Ein großer Teil der Fernholzprodukte wird aus PET hergestellt. Durch konsequenten Einsatz von recycliertem PET wurde es möglich, den Carbon Footprint bei Einsatz dieses Materials um fast 80 % zu reduzieren. Dazu hat Fernholz in eine leistungsfähige „State of the Art“ Dekontaminationsanlage investiert, die in einem aufwendigen Prozess das recyclierte PET reinigt und aufbereitet. Danach übertrifft das Material in seiner Reinheit alle erforderlichen Vorschriften für Packmittel im direkten Lebensmittelkontakt und ist diesbezüglich sogar besser als Neuware.

Dieser Prozess hilft also nicht nur, den CO2-Ausstoß signifikant zu verringern, sondern er schont die Ressourcen und trägt somit zu einem bewussten Umgang mit der Umwelt bei.

Recyceltes PET

 

450g CO2

 

Quelle: VISCO NEWS, Ausgabe 09, Oktober 2017.

PET Neuware

 

2150g CO2

 

NFM-Becher

 

Unser NFM-Becher (natural filled material) besteht bis zu 50 % aus Talkum, einem ebenso natürlichen wie vielseitigen Rohstoff, der kostengünstig und ortsnah verfügbar ist. So können wir den Anteil fossiler Rohstoffe in einem Standardbecher auf bis zu 50 % minimieren und verbrauchen auch weniger Energie bei der Herstellung. Das Talkum wird in Nordeuropa abgebaut und dem Polypropylen beigemischt. Gegenüber dem reinen Becher aus Polypropylen verbessert sich der CO2-Ausstoß.

Gartentrays

 

Darüberhinaus recyclen wir neutrale und dekorierte Ausschussware. Das Material wird eingefärbt und bei uns zu Non-Food-Artikeln, z.B. Gartenbautrays verarbeitet. Die bei der Produktion von Bechern und Schalen anfallenden Stanzgitter werden in den Verarbeitungskreislauf zurückgeführt. Der Ausschuss hinsichtlich verschmutzter oder bereits dekorierter Verpackungen wird zu Gartenbautrays verarbeitet. Dafür steht ein lokal separater Produktionsbereich zur Verfügung, in dem Kunststofftrays für den Gartenbau gefertigt werden.